The Ashen EggVol. 3 (2015)

Chloe Brown

Taking It One Day at a Time: The Twenty-Four Hour Novel as Coping Mechanism

C. Shawn Conger

Caught Between the Living and the Dead: Will's Liminal Existence in *Ash Grove*

John Corum

Genesis B: The Anglo-Saxon Fall From Grace

Anthony Gross, Jr.

Dialectal Difference Ain't No Deficit: Combating Linguicism in Language Arts, ESL, and EFL Classrooms

Collin Hammond

We Are Not Who We Are: Metahorror's Examination of Genre and Audience

Jaclyn Melcher

No "Happily Ever After": Examining the Failed Marriage Plots in Virginia Woolf's *Mrs. Dalloway* and Ian McEwan's *On Chesil Beach*

Mara Muccigrosso

History Repeating: Butler's *Kindred* as a Commentary on Time's Cyclic Nature and Slavery's Ramifications

Megan Serio

Gauzy Perceptions and Tangible Images: A Shift in Focus in *The Virgin Suicides* from Text to Screen

Megan Skaggs The Girls Who Cried Coyote: A Closer Look at the Ecofeminist Implications in Barbara Kingsolver's Prodigal Summer

Thursday, the thirtieth of April two thousand and fifteen at six o'clock

WKU Department of English Awards Ceremony and

Senior Celebration

Fine Arts Center 189

Welcome-Dr. Hale

Scholarship Award Winners-Dr. Spears

Robert Penn Warren Essay Contest Winners— Sarah Cohron (Bowling Green High), Benjamin Elijah Locke (LaRue County High), & Brian Anderson (LaRue County High)— Dr. Hale

The Undergraduate Conference on Language, Literature, & Culture Winners— Holly Logsdon, Rachel Sudbeck, & Jordan Upton—Dr. Hale

Sigma Tau Delta Conference Winner— Abby Ponder—Dr. Hale

Goldenrod Winners—Derek Ellis, Jarred Johnson, & Isiah Fish—Dr. Hale

PCAL Award Winners—Brittany Moster, Dori Norman, & Kayla Sweeney—Dr. Hale

Outstanding Graduate Students—Dori Norman & Teresa Witcher—Dr. Hale

B.A. English for Secondary Teachers

Chloe J. Brown* Jessica A. Brumley*** Natasha Fatkin** Austin D. Hogue*** Laura L. Mahaney* Megan E. Murphy* Philip M. Russell*** Rachel M. Smith*** Leta J. Summers*** Kayla J. Sweeney* Mary E. Taylor* Valerie K. Terry*** Amber N. Thompson*** Allison J. Teta* Haley R. Westerman*** Kaci Wilson*

M.A. English

James D. Addison** Shellie R. Brown* Kyrie A. Gialdini* Jennifer A. Gorman* Jaclyn K. Jennings* Sherry R. Keown* Anais D. Norman* April Schofield* Rachel L. Thomas* Stephanie A. Tillman* Zehra A. Yousofi***

*Spring Graduate **Summer Graduate ***Fall Graduate





Michael B. Wells—*Frank L. Atkinson Scholarship,* awarded to a senior English major active in the department and a resident of Kentucky with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Megan Ashley Skaggs – *Dr. Nancy Hightower Davis Scholarship*, awarded to an English major of sophomore or above standing with a minimum GPA of 3.2 overall; and possessing the personal qualities of character, integrity, dependability, industriousness, and human compassion which produce leaders

Jarred Logan Johnson—*Noma Dunn Scholarship*, awarded to an English major or minor who is a would-be teacher with good character, willingness to work, and a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Rachel Glise Sudbeck—Addie Hochstrasser Estate Fund for the Jim Wayne Miller Scholarship in Creative Writing, awarded to a junior or senior creative writing major or minor with a minimum GPA of 3.2 overall; and possessing the personal qualities of character, integrity, dependability, industriousness, and human compassion which produce leaders

Troy Alexander Prater—*Thomas G. Jones Scholarship,* awarded to an English major or minor of sophomore or above standing with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major **Megan Elizabeth Seitz**—*Jim Wayne Miller Scholarship,* awarded to a junior or senior creative writing major or minor with a minimum overall GPA of 3.2

Mara Muccigrosso—*Earl A. Moore Scholarship,* awarded to an English major and resident of Kentucky with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Sara Ann Alexander—*Betty Jean and Doug Mosley Scholarship*, awarded to an English major or minor with a minimum overall GPA of 2.5; and possessing the personal qualities of character, integrity, dependability, industriousness, and human compassion which produce leaders

Julia Hope Hines—*Pat and Wallace Nave Scholarship,* awarded to a junior or senior English major or a graduate student with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Tori Rose Wigginton—*Mary Lucille Scott Scholarship,* awarded to an English major and resident of Kentucky in the top twenty-five percent of the graduating class with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in the major

Jessica Ann Brumley and Brittany Marie Moster— Gordon Wilson Award, awarded to an English major for general excellence

Tia Johnston—*Wood Award*, awarded for outstanding graduate work

Lisa Williams – Gladly Award, awarded for outstanding graduate work

2015 Graduates

B.A. English

Caitlyn S. Adams*** Shannon L. Anderson** Katherine Atkinson* Hannah E. Bertram* Anna M. Bower* Brittany R. Brown*** Chloe J. Brown* Jessica A. Brumley*** Matthew T. Byrum* Timothy R. Caldwell*** Ann M. Childers*** Mar'nitka Coleman** Hunter R. Conner*** John R. Corum* Lauren M. Day** Daniel D. Dutton* Haley C. Edwards** Emily Embry*** Kirby D. Fields** Riley M. Finwood* Isiah D. Fish* Noah J. Frederick** David P. Gifford* Collin C. Hancock* Tyler J. Hardy* Natalie L. Hayden* Sarah E. Haywood* Kennedy B, Higdon*** Austin D. Hogue*** Jocelyn G. Hood*** Tiffany M. Hughes* Jennifer E. Hulsey* Rachel L. Humphries* William T. Hyde*

Eryn T. Karmiller* David R. Langdon* Holly L. Logsdon*** Rebecca J. Lumbrix*** Kyle A. Marshall* Brandy J. Meredith*** Brittany M. Moster* Megan E. Murphy* Savannah L. Osbourn* Lyndsey N. Pender* Steven D. Phelps*** Jade M. Primicias** Heather E. Rabold*** John H. Reynolds*** Kiersten L. Richards* Allison R. Sawyers* Sandra D. Sayne* Megan E. Siers* Kathryn L. Simmons* Jessica L. Smith*** Haven N. Springer*** Hannah F. Taylor* Anthony S. Thon* Marissa A. Tompkins* Miranda A. Victory*** Shyla M. Washington*** Iesse T. Wells* Isaiah D. Wemyss*** Brandon W. Zachary*** Jude V. Zoeller**

Alan Miller Award Winner—Abby Ponder— Dr. Hovet

Outstanding Student in Creative Writing— Isiah Fish—Dr. Bell

Outstanding Student in Teaching English as a Second Language—Sidney Blanford—Dr. Poole

> *Outstanding Student in Literature* – Brittany Moster – Dr. Langdon

Outstanding Student in Professional Writing— Ann Childers—Dr. Jones

Outstanding Student in English for Secondary Teachers— Jessica Brumley—Dr. LeNoir

Zephyrus Winners—Hannah Taylor, Jarred Johnson, Brandy Meredith, Laura Bianco, & Jade Primicias—Dr. LeNoir

Ashen Egg Contributors – Dr. Hale

Senior Recognition – Dr. Hale

Closing—Dr. Hale