Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

Climate Change Challenge

 

toppers at sea 2014

 

Toppers at Sea 2014denmarkicelandbelfastswddenenglandMV Explorer
Summer 2014

 

The Climate Change Challenge

Explore the impacts of climate change through the lens of many perspectives on board the MV Explorer.

 

Visiting Students

Visiting student must apply for admission to WKU to participate.  The WKU credit you earn would need to transfer back to your home institution.  Please contact your education abroad office to determine the process.

 


Check out the syllabus for each course
(updated Jan 31, 2014):


Economics 430 / 430G
Environmental and Resource Economics
Cathy Carey - cathy.carey@wku.edu
Dan Duran - Visiting professor with Whittier College - dduran@whittier.edu

EDU 401 / 401G - Special Topics
Special Topics in Teacher Education
Andrew West -- andrew.west@wku.edu

Geography 475 or Geoscience 510
We've Climate Changed: Interpreting Climate Change Science
Jason Polk - jason.polk@wku.edu
Leslie North - leslie.north@wku.edu

Honors 380
Trends Shaping Our Future: Local and Global Perspectives
Nathan Phelps - nathan.phelps@wku.edu

 
All students will also be enrolled in this 1-credit hour course:

ICSR 301
An Interdisciplinary Approach Addressing the Challenges of Climate Change
Bernie Strenecky - bernie.strenecky@wku.edu


 

QUESTIONS? Contact us right away.

Back to top of page

Western Kentucky University and its associates are not responsible for any loss due to theft, personal injury, flight or weather delays negligence or default of suppliers, or suppliers changing of itineraries. They and their associates are not responsible for any loss due to travel/flight delays or changes in travel plans due to Acts of Nature or other unforeseen circumstances, nor are we responsible for accidents and medical care. Tour services are furnished by independent contractors who are not agents or servants of Western Kentucky University. Refunds are not available for unused portions of the package.

Program Leaders

Locations

  • Stockholm, Sweden
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Lerwick, United Kingdom (Shetland Islands)
  • Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Isafjordur, Iceland
  • Akureyri, Iceland
  • Belfast, Northern Ireland
  • Southampton, England (Disembark)

Term

  • Summer 2014
    May 30 - June 15

Cost

  • $3,689 - $3,898
    *Airfare not included.

Program Downloads

 

 

Learn More

 

 

Join in

 

what will you do?

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/24/14