

Graduate Council Minutes —Thursday, August 19, 2021, 3:00 p.m. Zoom Meeting

Present: Aaron Hughey, Martha Day, Carl Dick, Nick Fessler, Ranjit Koodali, Sarah Ochs, Julie Sisler, Brooke Oak, Dana Sullivan, Ahmet Kaan Aydin, Katrina Burch, Ann Ferrell, Ray Blankenship, Scott Arnett, Cheryl Hopson, Adam West, Richard Schugart, Lily Popova Zhuhadar

Absent: Jacob Howard, Marla Zubel, Grant Malone

Guest: Lizzie Doerr, Laura Burchfield, Colette Chelf, Scott Gordon, Jennifer Hammonds, Danita Kelley, Cathleen Webb, Beth Laves, Kelly Madole

1. Call to Order *Hughey

2. Consideration of April 29, 2021, minutes (APPENDIX A) Hopson/Ferrell - Dick requested an update to the minutes. He noted that it should say that "Dana Sullivan was elected" instead of nominated. Approved.

- 3. Committee Reports
- a. Policy Committee (No Report)
- b. Curriculum Committee (No Report)
- c. Student Research Grants Committee (No Report)
- 4. Graduate School Updates from the Associate Provost for Research and Graduate Education
- * Koodali communicated a few changes in the Graduate School Staffing.
- * Koodali provided an update on Graduate Admission's processes.
- * Koodali shared some details on the New Graduate Student Orientation.
- * Koodali discussed changes occurring in Graduate Records. *Chelf provided an update on DegreeWorks and Graduate Thesis Guidelines.
- * Koodali provided an update on Graduate Recruitment. *Gordon provided information on Slate functions and recruitment events.
- * Koodali spoke about Graduate Student Research Grants.
- * Koodali brought up the CGS Consultation and recommendation in the report.
- * Koodali shared a chart with upcoming Graduate School events.
- * Koodali mentioned the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS).
- * Koodali discussed his plan for the Graduate Council Policy Committee.
- * Koodali is a ETS-TOEFL Board Member.

5. Passing of the Gavel to the New Chair

*Hughey officially turned it over to Day.

*Day announced that the Policy, Curriculum, and Student Research committees need to be formed. Day requested that voting members message her with their preferred committee. *There was discussion on meeting times and requirements for the make-up of the committees.

- Curriculum: Scott Arnett, Dana Sullivan, Aaron Hughey, Nick Fessler, Martha Day
- Student Research Grant Committee: Ahmet Kaan Aydin, Sarah Ochs, Lily Zhuhadar, Katrina Burch, Brooke Oak
- Policy Committee: Carl Dick, Ray Blankenship, Aaron Hughey, Richard Schugart, Adam West, Ann Ferrell

* The new committee members split into break out rooms to elect their committee chairs.

- The Policy Committee elected Richard Schugart
- The Student Research Grant Committee elected Sarah Ochs
- The Curriculum Committee elected Scott Arnett

6. Public Comments

*The Graduate Council meetings will remain on Zoom (3PM) until further notice. *Hughey has updated the listserve.

7. Announcements & Adjourn *West; adjourned