Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

ICSR | Research Working Groups



Institute for Citizenship & Social Responsibility

1906 College Heights Blvd #71084
Bowling Green, KY 42101

270 745-3218


Tate Page Hall 110

ICSR Minor Card

 Give to ICSR

Make a Gift

Purpose of ICSR Research Working Groups

ICSR's Research Working Groups provide a structure to support faculty, staff, and/or graduate students to sustain critical research on citizenship, social responsibility, community engagement, and social justice, broadly defined. Working groups strive to create productive intellectual exchange among members, facilitate deeper understanding of the identified research topic, and create innovative ideas related to the topic of research. 

In order to apply click here.

Fall 2014 Research Working Groups

Child and Forced Labor Research Group

Child Labor Research Working Group

From left to Right: Dr. Dorothea Browder; Dr. Ismail Civelek; Dr. LeAnne Coder; Dr. Brian Sullivan; Dr. Whitney Peake; Dr. Shane Spiller; (Not pictured:  Dr. Jerry Daday and Dr. Dana Cosby)

The Child and Forced Labor Research Group will discuss the impact of recent international directives to eliminate forced labor and child labor in the supply chain for organizations and how it may affect the education of future WKU students. These discussions will continue to educate WKU business students to be more socially responsible members of organizations and future leaders that can contribute to a sustainable global society.

Group Members: Dr. Dorothea Browder, Dr. Ismail Civelek, Dr. Leanne Coder, Dr. Dana Cosby, Dr. Jerry Daday, Dr. Whitney Peake, Dr. Shane Spiller, and Dr. Brian Sullivan

Intergroup Dialogue Facilitator Training

Intergroup Dialogue Facilitator Training

From Left to Right: (Back Row) Sarah Adams-Morely, David Prinz, Ginny Durakovich, Sasha Ross-Gibson, Sarah Haught, Carlos Stallworth, Richard Rose; (Front Row) Patricia Satterwhite, Genia Paige Wilson, Douglas Wagner, Daniel Rosner;(Not pictured) Ethan Sykes, Kathryn Looft, Dr. Peggy Crowe

The Intergroup Dialogue Facilitator Training group will train staff and graduate students to facilitate intergroup dialogues on WKU's campus. Intergroup dialogues are prolonged small group discussions between different historically disparate groups, led by trained facilitators who create a safe place for intergroup interaction to take place. This group seeks to foster meaningful, structured interaction between students from diverse backgrounds and increase student understanding and informed discourse about their identities and inherent differences.

Group Members: Dr. Peggy Crowe, Sasha Ross-Gibson, Sarah Adams-Morely, David Prinz, Sarah Haught, Douglas Wagner, Daniel Rosner, Patricia Satterwhite, Kathryn Looft, Ethan Sykes, Ginny Durakovich, Genia Paige Wilson, Carlos Stallworth, Richard Rose

Third Space Research Group

Third Space Research Working Group

From Left to Right: Roxanne Spencer; Dr. Andrea Paganelli; Dr. Cynthia Houston; Renee Hale; (Not pictured) Tony Paganelli

The Third Space Research Group studies Makerspaces as Third Spaces in education. Third spaces have the potential to address social and cultural inequities in education by providing equality of access to learning resources for minority students. They will be developing a prototype "pop up" Makerspace for middle school students, focusing on the STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics) areas for designing and making things that meet the needs of the community.

Group Members: Dr. Cynthia Houston, School of Teacher Education; Dr. Andrea Paganelli, School of Teacher Education; Roxanne Spencer, ERC Coordinator, University Libraries; Renee Hale, Moss Middle School; Tony Paganelli, University Libraries


Previous Research Working Groups

facebook logotwitter logoyoutube logo


Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 12/1/14