Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Office of Sustainability - News

Kentucky Academy of Science (KAS) Award Recipients

Kentucky Academy of Science (KAS) Award Recipients

Dr. Jarrett Johnson received $5,000 from the 2012 Kentucky Academy of Science (KAS) Special Research Program to investigate gene flow among populations of multiple amphibian species in the eastern foothills of the Santa Clara Valley, California. This work will identify species-specific patterns of amphibian dispersal on a single landscape and inform conservation decision-making for several amphibian species of special concern across the region.

Kevin Tewell, a first-year MS student in Dr. Johnson’s lab, is a 2012 recipient of the Marcia Athey Award. He received $500 to study landscape genetics of marbled salamanders at Mammoth Cave National Park. Kevin's research has the potential to identify key differences in patterns of salamander gene flow in landscapes that are largely intact, versus landscapes that suffer from fragmentation and urbanization. Kevin also recently received $400 from the Sigma Xi Grants-in-Aid of Research Program to support this project.


All News  Now Viewing Category: All
Biology News
Cultural Enhancement Series
Center for Environmental Education and Sustainability - CEES
Office of Sustainability
Latest Headlines
Featured Articles

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/25/14