Western Kentucky University

WKU Administration

WKU Administrative Council

The WKU Administrative Council is comprised of the University President and his 11 senior administrators including the vice presidents for Academic Affairs, Research, Student Affairs, Campus Services and Facilities, Development and Alumni Relations, Finance and Administration, Information Technology and Public Affairs as well as the Athletic Director, Chief Diversity Officer and Chief of Staff/General Counsel. These individuals report to the President and are responsible for working together to determine University policy and provide strategic leadership and oversight of all functions of the institution.

Members are:

Dr. Gary A. Ransdell, President
Mr. Howard Bailey, Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. Gordon C. Baylis, Vice President for Research
Ms. Kathryn R. Costello, Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations
Dr. A. Gordon Emslie, Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
Ms. K. Ann Mead, Senior Vice President for Finance & Administration
Dr. Brian W. Meredith, Chief Enrollment and Graduation Officer
Dr. Richard C. Miller, Vice Provost & Chief Diversity Officer
Mr. Gordon Johnson, Chief Information Technology Officer
Mr. Bryan B. Russell, Chief Facilities Officer
Mr. Todd Stewart, Director of Athletics
Ms. Robbin Taylor, Vice President for Public Affairs
Ms. Deborah T. Wilkins, General Counsel

WKU University Ombuds Officer:

The Ombuds Officer serves as an available information source and point of communication for faculty and staff who believe they may have a personal grievance regarding an alleged violation, misinterpretation or improper application of university policies and procedures or alleged improper treatment.

University Ombuds Officer:

Dr. Karl Laves

Potter Hall, room 409
(270) 745-3159 office
(270) 781-5065 after hours

Office hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. M-F


For additional information, please visit Human Resources.

 Last Modified 7/24/14