Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

WKU Department of Mathematics

Mathematics professor Dr. Claus Ernst is recognized as a University Distinguished Professor, the highest honor WKU bestows upon faculty, during the 2013 President's Convocation.

Our Fall 2014 student "Math Ambassadors": (from left) Ryan McKenna, Chase Cain, and Samantha McKean.

Department Head of Mathematics Dr. Bruce Kessler received the 13th annual President's Spirit of Western Award. (WKU photo by Clinton Lewis)

Mathematics professor Dr. Ferhan Atici (from left), computer science professor Dr. Mustafa Atici, and math graduate student Sutthirut Charoenphon presented a poster on their grant-funded research at the 2013 Kentucky Innovation and Entrepreneurship Conference.

Dr. Summer Bateiha is the 2014 Ogden College and University Faculty Award for Teaching recipient.

Studying Mathematics at WKU

Departmental curricular options offer both graduate and undergraduate degrees in Mathematics. Our programs emphasize sound instruction, abundant study support, and a fertile learning environment geared to engage inquiry, and to enhance student achievement and success in learning and applying mathematics.  To see the curricula involved in each of our majors, minors, certificates, or Masters programs, click on the "Programs" pull-down menu on the navigation bar.

Three WKU Students (two math majors) awarded Goldwater Scholarships

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is a highly competitive, merit-based award offered to college juniors and seniors preparing for a career in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. Three WKU students, John Andrew Cliburn (mathematics and chemistry), Nitin Anantha Krishna (mathematics and computer science), and Megan Laffoon (biology), were recently awarded this scholarship. A fourth student recipient, Samuel Reeves Saarinen, who is currently at UK, did much of the research that merited his award while he was a Gatton Academy student at WKU. Congratulations to these students, and to the mathematics faculty who worked with them: Lan Nguyen (Cliburn), Richard Schugart (Krishna), and Claus Ernst (Saarinen).

Recent Faculty Awards

  • Dr. Summer Bateiha – 2014 WKU University Faculty Award for Teaching

  • Dr. Bruce Kessler – 2014 WKU Spirit of Western Award

  • Dr. Tom Richmond – 2014 Kentucky Mathematical Association of America Teaching Award

  • Dr. Claus Ernst – Named a WKU University Distinguished Professor in 2013

Support for Student Success in Mathematics

The Mathematics Department provides a Math Help Lab in CoHH 2124 to provide free tutoring to students taking classes in our department, especially those taking general education mathematics courses.  Also, the Mathematics Department provides a Math Testing Center in CoHH 2126 (745-2141) for students to take their online MATH 116 College Algebra exams and to retake Math Placement Exams, if eligible, in a proctored environment.






Contact:  Dr. Bruce Kessler, Head  |  Department of Mathematics  |  Western Kentucky University
1906 College Heights Blvd. #11078  |  Bowling Green, KY 42101-1078
Telephone:  (270) 745-3651  |  FAX: (270) 745-3699  |  E-mail:  Dr. Bruce Kessler (

Questions or Comments
about this web page should be directed to the  Departmental Webmaster.  

Dr. Bruce Kessler, Interim Math Department Head

Dr. Bruce Kessler is the Department Head of the Mathematics Department.

Apply Now!

    Quick Links

    Upcoming Events


Make a Gift

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/24/14