Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

Religious Studies Faculty

                                                        Full Time Faculty

 

 Eric Bain-Selbo

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Comparative religion, methodology, religious ethics,

religion and popular culture

Professor, Department Head

Cherry Hall 300C

(270) 745-5744

E-Mail: Eric.Bain-Selbo@wku.edu

Web: http://works.bepress.com/eric_bain_selbo

 

Paul Fischer

Ph.D., University of Chicago

East Asian languages and civilizations, 

Assistant Professor

Cherry Hall 321

(270) 745-5758

E-Mail: Paul.Fischer@wku.edu

Web: http://people.wku.edu/paul.fischer/home.html    

Bella Mukonyora

Ph.D., University of Oxford

Early and Modern Christian Thought, African Religions

and Postcolonial Theologies

Associate Professor

Cherry Hall 319A

(270) 745-5754

E-Mail: Bella.Mukonyora@wku.edu

Web: http://works.bepress.com/isabel_mukonyora

 

Jeffrey Samuels

Ph.D., University of Virginia

Theravada Buddhism, South Asian religions, history of religions,

religion and culture

Professor

Cherry Hall 311

(270) 745-5748

E-Mail: Jeffrey.Samuels@wku.edu

Web: http://www.wku.edu/~jeffrey.samuels

 

Lawrence Snyder, Jr.

Ph.D., University of North Carolina

American religious history, religion and contemporary culture,

religious pluralism, Western Christianity

Associate Professor

Fine Arts Center 200

(270) 745-2344

E-Mail: Lawrence.Snyder@wku.edu

 

Nahed Zehr

Ph.D., Florida State University

Islam, Religious Ethics

Cherry Hall 314

(270) 745-5752

E-Mail: Nahed.Zehr@wku.edu

 

 

 

 

                                            Transitional Retiree

 

Joseph Trafton

Ph.D., Duke University

New Testament, Greek, Second Temple Judaism, Dead Sea Scrolls

University Distinguished Professor

Cherry Hall 308

(270) 745-5750

E-Mail: Joseph.Trafton@wku.edu

Web: http://works.bepress.com/joseph_trafton/

 

                                      

                                              Affiliated Faculty

 

Elizabeth Gish

Assistant Professor in the Honors College

American evangelicalism, feminist/sexual

ethics, New Testament

Garrett Conference Center 119

(270) 745-5155

E-Mail: elizabeth.gish@wku.edu

 

Beth Plummer

Associate Professor in History                   

Renaissance and Reformation Europe

Cherry Hall 223B

(270) 745-5739

E-Mail: beth.plummer@wku.edu

 

Tamara Van Dyken

Assistant Professor in History

History of Religion in America

Cherry Hall 230C

(270) 745-2994

E-mail: tamara.vandyken@wku.edu

 

 

 

                                                         Part-time Instructors

 

Stephen Kershner

Instructor, Latin

E-mail: Stephen.Kershner@wku.edu

 

Ryan Korstange

Instructor, Biblical Studies                  

E-mail: ryan.korstange@wku.edu

 

Markus Von Steinfort

Instructor, Biblical Studies

E-mail: markus.vonsteinfort@wku.edu

 

 

 


                                                            Professor Emeriti

 

Alan Anderson

Professor, Transitional Retiree

E-Mail: Alan.Anderson@wku.edu

Web: www.wku.edu/~alan.anderson/

 

Margaret Curtis

Professor Emeritus                          

E-Mail: Margaret.Curtis@wku.edu

John Long

Associate Professor

E-mail: John.Long@wku.edu

Ronald Veenker

Professor Emeritus

E-Mail: Ronald.Veenker@wku.edu

 

 

                                                                           Staff

 

Paula Williams

Office Associate

Cherry Hall 300A

(270) 745-3137

E-Mail: Paula.Williams@wku.edu

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 9/25/14