Skip to main content
Western Kentucky University

Minor in Criminology for Undergraduate Students

Criminology Minor

Students interested in government, political science, psychology, forensics, social work, pre-law, police science, corrections, probation, parole, court administration, or any related academic field or career will find the minor in criminology academically and professionally rewarding.

Required (12 hours)

SOCL 309 Social Deviance*

CRIM 330 Criminology*

CRIM 332 Juvenile Delinquency*

CRIM 380 Penology*

Elective (9 hours)

CRIM 231 Introduction to Criminal Justice*

CRIM 232 Introduction to Law Enforcement

CRIM 233 Alternatives to Confinement

SOCL 359 Sexuality and Society

CRIM 361 Race, Class, & Crime

CRIM 432 Sociology of Criminal Law

CRIM 434 Organized Crime

SOCL 435 Family Violence

CRIM 437 The Death Penalty in America

CRIM 438 Victimology*

CRIM 439 Internship in Criminology*

CRIM 446 Gender, Crime & Justice

CRIM 451 White Collar Crime

PS 220 Judicial Process*

PS 326 Constitutional Law

PS 328 Criminal Justice

PS 350 Political Terrorism

HIST 445 American Legal History to 1865

HIST 446 American Legal History Since 1865

SWRK 356 Services to Juvenile Offenders

PSY 440 Abnormal Psychology

PSY 441 Aspects of Alcoholism

PSY 470 Psychology and the Law

CHEM 430 Forensic Chemistry

PH 165 Drug Abuse*

MGT 210 Organizational Management

ANTH 300 Forensic Anthropology

Contact:

Dr. John Faine                   Dr. Edward Bohlander                   Dr. Jerry Daday                   Dr. Carrie Trojan
118 Grise Hall                     118 Grise Hall                               119 Grise Hall                     117 Grise Hall
745-2291                             745-2299                                        745-8764                           745-2645
john.faine@wku.edu           edward.bohlander@wku.edu         jerry.daday@wku.edu       carrie.trojan@wku.edu
 
Dr. Holli Drummond              Dr. James Kanan                           Dr. Matt Pruitt                     Dr. Kate King
      111 Grise Hall                  112 Grise Hall                               127 Grise Hall                     110 Grise Hall
745-2259                               745-2404                                     745-2376                            745-2023
holli.drummond@wku.edu     james.kanan@wku.edu               matt.pruitt@wku.edu       kate.king@wku.edu
 
http://www.wku.edu/Dept/Academic/AHSS/Sociology/Home.html
*Available by correspondence. Contact: WKU office of Independent Learning, Garrett Conference Center Room 101 270.745.4158

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 
 Last Modified 8/25/14