Western Kentucky University

delta sigma theta

Delta Sigma Theta




Eta Zeta Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta was founded on March 14, 1970 at Western Kentucky University by 14 phenomenal women. These charter members, also known as the WANDS (WE ALL NEED DELTA), had been functioning together since March 1969 to get a chapter started at Western. These willing young women began their journey by approaching the Dean of Student Life with the idea of starting a chapter on campus, but the Dean told these ladies there was one sorority already on campus and there was no need for another one. These ladies, determined with their minds made up for Delta, fought for what they believed in and in 1970, the chapter to be known as Eta Zeta was finally established. Delta Sigma Theta is a sisterhood of predominately Black college-educated women committed to a lifetime of public service.

Nickname: Deltas

WKU Chapter: Eta Zeta

Founding Date: January 13, 1913

Original Charter at WKU:  March 14, 1970

Color: Crimson & Cream

Flower: African Violet

Mascot/Symbol: Fortitude

Philanthropy: Habitat for Humanity

 Last Modified 7/19/13