Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 3:00 pm – February 2, 2010 Dean's Conference Room

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe, Chair. Jim Berger, Lance Hahn for Andy Mienaltowski, Jeanine Huss, Jennifer Montgomery, Bud Schlinker, Jill Duba, Judy Davison, Sherry Powers, Vernon Sheeley, Patti Whetsone, Jackie Pope-Tarrence for Carrie Pritchard, Judy Pierce for Toby Daniel, Ellen Gott (for Fred Carter)

Guests: Marge Maxwell, Bob Smith

The minutes from the December 1, 2009, meeting were approved as they appear on the web.

New Business

From the School of Teacher Education

- ■Revise Course Prerequisites-LME 590, Practicum Whetstone/Berger motion to approve/second. Bob Smith presented and the motion passed.
- ■New Course Proposal LME 591, Advanced Practicum in Library Media Education Whetstone/Berger motion to approve/second. Bob Smith and Marge Maxwell presented. There were some edits noted and the motion passed.
- ■Create a New Major Program Planned Sixth-Year (Rank I) in Library Media Education Whetstone/Berger motion to approve/second. Bob Smith and Marge Maxwell presented. After discussion, Bob Smith withdrew the proposal with the intention of re-submitting it for the March meeting.

Other Business

■Choose a Pool of faculty and students to serve on the 2010 CEBS College Academic Complaint Committee. The following names are those who will serve:

<u>EALR</u> – Mark Fenster (faculty), Cheri Smith (student)

It was agreed that the School of Teacher Education would have two representatives each-faculty and student.

STE – Judy Pierce and Judy Davison (faculty members) Rachel Hanger and Mark Helit (students)

PSY – Tony Paquin (faculty), Abby Meador (student)

CSA – Jill Duba (faculty), Jessica Washer (student)

Susan will contact Military Science to obtain names from their department.

- ■There was one report from the Alternate Admission Subcommittee.
- ■Information: The electronic vote on the proposal Create a New Course, LTCY 199, taken in January, passed.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:40.

Susan Krisher, Committee Secretary