Minutes

CEBS Curriculum Committee

(Called meeting to replace March meeting)
3:00 pm – February 28, 2012 - GRH 3073

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe, Chair. Janet Applin (for Sherry Powers), Andrew Mienaltowski, Jim Berger, Dusty Knotts, Lisa Duffin, Marge Maxwell, Kyong Hee Chon, Aaron Hughey, Steve Haggbloom, Bud Schlinker, Fred Carter <u>Members Absent</u>: Cassie Zippay, Jill Bryant, Shane Blankenship, Pam Petty, Michael McDonald, Bill Kline, Jason Caldwell, Tony Norman

The minutes from the January 24 (called meeting) and the February 7 meetings were approved as they appear on the web.

New Business

School of Teacher Education

•Revise a Certification Policy – Policy on Requirements for Recommendation for Initial Certification at the Baccalaureate Level

There was a Berger/Duffin motion to approve/second. Retta presented and informed the group that Dr. Evans will be adding information from the Senate Bill #1 to the rationale before it goes to PEC. Other Kentucky universities have already established certification policies with similar GPA requirements, and revising our policy will put us in line with these other institutions. The motion passed.

Educational Administration, Leadership and Research

It was agreed to address the following five proposals together:

- •Delete a Course − EDFN 548, Research in Curriculum and Instruction
- •Delete a Course EDFN 720, Foundation of Rural Education Policy
- •Delete a Course EDAD 586, Creating a High Performance Culture
- ■Delete a Course EDAD 611, Leading Change
- •Delete a Course − EDAD 680, Removing Barriers to Learning

There was a Berger/Knotts motion to approve/second. Bud Schlinker presented. The motion passed.

Other Business

Retta Poe presented the following information items:

- •Create a Temporary Course SPED 595, Advanced Preparation Capstone for Learning and Behavior Disorders
- •Deletion of Endorsement Codes for Certification-Only in Counseling, Ref. #159
- •Report from the Alternate Admission Subcommittee

Retta also said that an ad hoc committee for review the Outstanding Graduate Student Award nominees would be needed in late March and asked for nominations and self-nominations. Those chosen were: Any Mienaltowski, Aaron Hughey, Bud Schlinker and Cassie Zippay. Another representative from the STE will also be added.

Other Business

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:15.