Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 3:00 pm – May 1, 2012 GRH 3073

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe, Chair. Janet Applin, Andrew Mienaltowski, Jim Berger, Jill Bryant, Lisa Duffin, Dusty Knotts, Marge Maxwell, Kyong Hee Chon, Steve Haggbloom, Bud Schlinker, Fred Carter, Cassie Zippay, Pam Petty, Sherry Powers, Tony Norman

Members Absent: Shane Blankenship, Aaron Hughey, Michael McDonald, Bill Kline, Jason Caldwell

Guests (new members for 2012-2014): Jill Cabrera, Jeanine Huss

The minutes from the April 3, 2012 meeting were approved as they appear on the web.

New Business

Educational Leadership Doctoral (EdD) Program

•Make Multiple Revisions to a Course – EDLD 799, Dissertation Research

There was a Powers/Berger motion to approve/second. Tony Norman presented. There was some discussion regarding whether to add to section 1.3 that the course is repeatable and what the repeat limit is. Additional discussion followed regarding proposed changes in Graduate Studies regarding maintain matriculation requirements and repeat limits for thesis, specialist project, and dissertation courses. Dr. Norman agreed to add "repeatable" to section 1.3 but not indicate a repeat limit. It was also agreed to change the implementation date to spring, 2013. The motion passed.

Other Business

•Information Only - Temporary course, ENVE 525, Education for Sustainability (Fall 2012)

•Selection of Graduate Council member to complete Dr. Schlinker's term Jim Berger and Marge Maxwell were nominated. Jim Berger was chosen to complete the remaining year on Dr. Schlinker's term.

•Selection of UCC Member and UCC Alternate Member for 2012/13 Dusty Knotts was chosen as the member and Jeanine Huss will be the alternate member.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:30

Susan Krisher, Committee Secretary