Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 2:00 – June 7, 2011 GRH 3073

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe- Chair, Jim Berger, Lisa Duffin, Ellen Gott (for Fred Carter), Steve Haggbloom, Jeanine Huss, Marge Maxwell, Bud Schlinker, Vernon Sheeley, Steve Wininger (for Andrew Mienaltowski), Janet Applin (for Patti Whetstone) Guest: Three new members who will begin terms in August - Jill Bryant, J. Dusteen Knotts, Cassie Zippay)

The minutes of the May 3, 2011, meeting were approved.

Other Business

- 1. Proposed Revision to CEBS Curriculum Committee Bylaws. Retta Poe explained the revisions. One change was to add the Director of the EdD Program in Educational Leadership as an Exofficio voting member. Another change was in the Membership Qualifications to read "Individuals holding full-time faculty appointments and elected by their departments/units may serve on the Curriculum Committee." Another change was regarding the Chair of the Committee. It was changed to read, "The Associate Dean for Academic Programs, or other faculty member or administrator appointed by the Dean, shall serve as chair." There was a Berger/Haggbloom motion to approve/second. The motion passed.
- 2. Selection of a representative and alternate member for the UCC Committee for the upcoming academic year. Cassie Zippay will be the member. J. Dusteen Knotts will be the alternate.
- 3. Report from the Alternate Admission Subcommittee

Added at the meeting for information:

4. Create a Temporary Course – LTCY 500, Fundamentals of Reading and Related Language Arts

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:15.

Susan Krisher, Committee Secretary