## Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 3:00 pm – September 3, 2013 GRH 3073

<u>Members Present</u>: Janet Applin- Chair, Jim Berger (for Michael Putnam) Qin Zhao, Jennifer Cribbs, Silvie Huang (for Margaret Gichuru), Jeanine Huss, Nancy Hulan (for Lucy Maples) Becki Stobaugh, Jill Cabrera, Imelda Bratton, Bill Kline, Jackie Pope-Tarrence (for Randy Capps), Retta Poe (advisory member)

The minutes from the July 2, 2013 meeting were approved as they appear on the web.

# **New Business**

## School of Teacher Education

It was agreed to address the following two proposals together:

- Revise Course Prerequisites/Corequisites EDU 701, Teacher Leadership and Assessment I
- Revise Course Prerequisites/Corequisites EDU 702, Teacher Leadership and Assessment II

There was a Berger/Huss motion to approve/second. Nancy Hulan spoke briefly about these. It was agreed that the implementation date should be changed to Summer 2014. The motion passed.

It was agreed to address the following two proposals together:

- Revise Course Prerequisites/Corequisites IED 703, Equity Pedagogy and Issues of Diversity
- Revise Course Prerequisites/Corequisites IED 704, Leadership and the Ethics of Teaching

There was a Stobaugh/Pope-Tarrence motion to approve/second. The implementation date on these two proposals also needs to be changed to Summer 2014. The motion passed.

• Revise a Program – LTCY 044, Literacy Education

There was a Berger/Kline motion to approve/second. Nancy Hulan presented the revision. There was discussion about some revisions being made on item 7 to clarify the wording. It was agreed to approve this proposal in substance and to make the revisions to item 7. The motion passed.

## Educational Leadership Doctoral (EdD) Program

• Revise a Program – 0010 Educational leadership (EDD)

There was a Berger/Kline motion to approve/second. Janet Applin explained this program revision. The motion passed.

## **Other Business**

• Report from the Alternate Admission Subcommittee

It was noted that there was one report from this subcommittee.

• Elect a Vice-Chair

After some discussion, there was a Kline/Cabrera motion/second to suspend the bylaws to allow Retta Poe to be the vice chair instead of a department head. The motion passed.

• Select new members for the Alternate Admission Subcommittee

Janet Applin asked for new members for this subcommittee. Imelda Bratton, Beckie Stobaugh and Jill Cabrera all agreed to be on this subcommittee again this year. Janet will ask for two more members, one from Psychology and one from the School of Teacher Education.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:35.

Susan Krisher, Committee Secretary