Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 3:00 pm – September 6, 2011 - GRH 3073

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe- Chair, Janet Applin, Jim Berger, Jill Bryant, Lisa Duffin, Ellen Gott (for Fred Carter), Joseph Huggins, Dusty Knotts, Michael McDonald, Marge Maxwell, Andrew Mienaltowski, Jennifer Montgomery (for Pam Petty), Sherry Powers, Steve Wininger (for Steve Haggbloom), Cassie Zippay

The minutes of the July 5, 2011, meeting were approved.

New Business

School of Teacher Education

It was agreed to take the following two proposals together:

- •Make Multiple Revisions to a Course LTCY 320, Teaching Reading in Elementary School
- •Make Multiple Revisions to a Course LTCY 420, Reading in the Primary Grades

There was a Berger/Powers motion to approve/second. Jennifer Montgomery presented. The motion passed.

•Revise Course Prerequisites – TCHL 520, Principles of Action Research for Teacher Leaders There was a Berger/Duffin motion to approve/second. Janet Applin presented. Some edits were noted. One was to change the wording of #3. Proposed pre-or co requisite: Change "TCHL 500 or admission to the Master of Arts of Teaching Program." to read: "TCHL 500 or admission to a graduate program leading to initial teacher certification." The motion passed.

Department of Educational Administration, Leadership and Research

■Revise a Program – 047, Adult Education

There was a Powers/McDonald motion to approve/second. Jim Berger presented. Edits were noted and the motion passed.

Other Business

- •There was a report from Alternate Admission Subcommittee.
- •Elect a Vice chair for the CEBS Curriculum Committee

There was a Powers/Maxwell motion to suspend the rules for Dr. Applin to be the Vice-Chair. The motion passed.

•Elect a representative to the UCC

It was agreed for Dusty Knotts to replace Cassie Zippay as the member to UCC and Cassie Zippay to take Dusty's place as the alternate member. The reason being - Dr. Zippay does not deal with undergraduate courses.

•Elect new members for the Alternate Admissions Subcommittee
Those chosen - Jim Berger, Jill Bryant, Lisa Duffin, Marge Maxwell, Michael McDonald

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:25.

Susan Krisher, Committee Secretary