Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 3:00 – November 6, 2007 Dean's Conference Room

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe, Chair. Melissa Hakman, Lucy Maples, Tracy Lara, Terrance McCain, Pitt Derryberry, Sylvia Dietrich, Ashley White, Sherry Powers, Aaron Hughey, Alice Mikovch

Guest: Nedra Atwell

The first item of business was to approve the minutes of the October 2, 2007, meeting. The minutes were approved as they appeared on the web.

New Business

From the Department of Special Instructional Programs

1. Proposal to Revise a Program – Master of Arts in Education, Exceptional Education, Moderate and Severe Disabilities

Proposal is to revise admission criteria, to allow applications from teachers who have initial certification in any area. Powers/ Dietrich motion to approve/second. Nedra Atwell presented. Motion passed.

- 2. Relocation of the Director of Special Education (DOSE) Certification Programs (Information Item) Effective January 2008, the following certification programs will be moved administratively from the Department of Educational Administration, Leadership and Research to the Department of Special Instructional Programs in the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences:
 - •Director of Special Education Planned Sixth-Year/Rank I (30 hours) Ref. #121, Concentration Code PDS
 - •Director of Special Education Endorsement (15 hours) Ref. #131, Concentration Code PDS

This change is being made to provide students seeking this certification with appropriate advising from qualified faculty in Special Education. Questions about this change may be directed to Dr. Powers, Dr. Fiene, or Dr. Nedra Atwell, program advisor for students in the DOSE programs.

Other Business

There were two reports from the Alternate Admissions Subcommittee.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:15.

Susan Krisher, Secretary