Minutes CEBS Curriculum Committee 3:00 pm – December 6, 2011 - GRH 3073

<u>Members Present</u>: Retta Poe- Chair, Janet Applin (for Sherry Powers), Jill Bryant, Fred Carter, Kyong Chon, Dusty Knotts, Marge Maxwell, Andrew Mienaltowski, Tony Norman, Pam Petty, Bud Schlinker, Steve Wininger (for Steve Haggbloom), Cassie Zippay <u>Members Absent</u>: Jim Berger, Shane Blankenship, Lisa Duffin, Michael McDonald, Aaron Hughey, Bill Kline, Jason Caldwell

The minutes of the November 1, 2011 meeting were approved.

New Business

Department of Psychology

It was agreed to address the following three proposals together.

--Revise Course Prerequisites/Corequisites - PSY 301, Statistics in Psychology

--Revise a Program - 591, Psychology Extended Major

--Revise a Program – 760, Psychology General Major

There was a Petty/Knotts motion to approve/second. Steve Wininger presented. After some discussion and edits mentioned, the motion passed.

Educational Leadership Doctoral (EDD) Program

It was agreed to address the following four proposals together. Delete a Course – EDLD 700, Educational Leadership Doctoral Program Orientation Delete a Course – EDLD 711, Methodology in Leadership Research Delete a Course – EDLD 721, Measurement and Validity in Leadership Research Delete a Course – EDLD 731, Advanced Data Analysis Tools in Leadership Research There was a Knotts/Carter motion to approve/second. Janet Applin presented. The motion passed.

School of Teacher Education

(Information Only) Change Course Prefix EXED (Exceptional Education) --Undergraduate and Graduate (Information Only) Create a Temporary Course – LTCY 501, Reading and Writing for Learning Retta presented these two items.

Retta announced that the CEBS Curriculum Committee's regularly-scheduled -meeting on January 3, 2012, has been cancelled. Instead, there will be a called meeting on Tuesday, January 24 at 3:00, GRH 3073. Proposals for this meeting will be due by noon on Tuesday, January 17.

Retta handed out a document from the ad hoc subcommittee appointed to discuss whether the college should develop a policy on academic integrity. The members of the ad hoc subcommittee were: Janet Applin, Jill Bryant, Lance Hahn, Ric Keaster, Gail Kirby, Steve Miller, and Vernon Sheeley. The ad hoc subcommittee's recommendation to develop a college policy on academic integrity was summarized on a handout distributed by Retta. After discussion, Pam Petty moved, seconded by Bud Schlinker, to create another ad hoc subcommittee to draft a college policy on academic integrity and present the draft proposal to the CEBS Curriculum Committee for its consideration. The motion passed. After the start of the spring semester Retta will ask the members of the first ad hoc subcommittee to serve on the second subcommittee, and she will also work with CEBS Curriculum Committee members to identify additional faculty members to serve on the ad hoc subcommittee.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:40.