Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Safe Communities

Safe Communities Logo 

On July 30, 2014, Western Kentucky University became accredited by the National Safety Council as a Safe Community. WKU is the fourth university, and 25th community to receive this accreditation. Safe Communities America is a program of the National Safety Council and is associated with an accreditation in which any community can receive if certain criteria are met. This program is an approach that is proven to reduce injuries within a community through the use of community coalition members.


So, what is a Safe Community?

  • Shares a geographical area (such as a municipality, campus, district, county, or region)
  • Works together in a coordinated and collaborative way
  • Promotes safety and health to prevent injury of its residents
  • Uses community data to prioritize safety and health areas in greatest need of attention
  • Is committed to the process of continuous improvement
  • Saves lives and prevents injuries


To become a Safe Community, WKU Safe Community Coalition members coordinated and discussed current programs regarding different safety categories. Upon gathering this information, the application process began and the coalition members started addressing the four areas of competency (established by the National Safety Council). After review of the application, a 2-day site visit was conducted at Western Kentucky University. This site visit consisted of touring WKU, meeting with coalition members, and discussing current safety programs, as well as brainstorming future program enhancements. After a very successful site visit, a designation ceremony was coordinated to celebrate WKU's accreditation success!

Tips to Stay Safe WKU

link to cyanide poisoning info

link to drive focused

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 11/10/17