Skip to main content
Skip to main content

WKU Sustainability Committee

The Western Kentucky University Sustainability Committee

The Western Kentucky University Sustainability Committee was created in late 2008. The committee, which is comprised of faculty, students, and staff, is charged with integrating principles of sustainability into University academics, operations, and culture. 

The WKU Sustainability Committee is comprised of 15 members. However, knowledge and expertise of individuals all over campus is needed, requested and welcomed. If you would like to join a subcommittee or make a recommendation for formation of a subcommittee to address a specific goal or issue, please contact committee chair, Christian Ryan. Additionally, everyone is welcome to attend Sustainability Committee meetings. Meeting times are set for the year and posted on the WKU Sustainability website calendar.

The WKU Sustainability Committee made remarkable progress in 2009 and 2010. The Energy Conservation Task Force subcommittee created the WKU Energy Policy, adopted by the University in spring 2009 and celebrated by a visit from former Kentucky Governor Beshear. The Fundraising Task Force established the WKU Green Fund, to which donations can be contributed to support major sustainability initiatives at WKU. The committee helped to create a storm water quality management plan for our campus. And the WKU Sustainability Committee is supporting the Education for Sustainability Steering Committee to help integrate Education for Sustainability as a critical focus in academics.

This fall, the WKU Sustainability Committee is completing its first three year term and working on identifying future goals. Meetings are always open to all, and dates are posted on the on the Sustainability website calendar.

If you have ideas for the WKU Sustainability Committee, please contact committee chair Christian Ryan at:

Globe Sculpture at Western Kentucky University

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 6/12/17