Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Americans with Disabilities Act

What is the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)?

The Americans with Disabilities Act provides protection from discrimination for individuals on the basis of disability. The ADA extends civil rights protection for people with disabilities to employment in the public and private sectors, transportation, public accommodations, services provided by state and local government, and telecommunications services. Besides physical access, the ADA mandates program access, which includes electronic media and web pages.


Who is considered a "Person with a Disability"?

According to the ADA, a “person with a disability” is defined as anyone with a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities. This includes but is not limited to:*

Concentrating, Speaking, Performing manual tasks, Breathing, Hearing, Walking, Learning, Seeing, Working, Caring for oneself, Sleeping, Standing, Lifting, Bending, Reading, Thinking, Communicating.

The definition also includes "invisible" disabilities, such as:

  • Psychological disabilities
  • Learning disabilities
  • Chronic health impairments, such as attention deficit disorder, epilepsy, diabetes, arthritis, cancer, cardiac problems, and HIV/AIDS.

*Definition updated to include revisions from the ADA Amendments Act, January 1, 2009.

U.S. Department of Justice-Americans with Disabilities Act

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,
download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Note: documents in Excel format (XLS) require Microsoft Viewer,
download excel.

Note: documents in Word format (DOC) require Microsoft Viewer,
download word.

Note: documents in Powerpoint format (PPT) require Microsoft Viewer,
download powerpoint.

Note: documents in Quicktime Movie format [MOV] require Apple Quicktime,
download quicktime.

 Last Modified 9/25/14